How to Play the Tomb Raider Games in Chronological Order

How to Play the Tomb Raider Games in Chronological Order

Are you a fan of the iconic video game series Tomb Raider and want to experience Lara Croft’s adventures in chronological order? Look no further! In this guide, we will take you through the fascinating history of Tomb Raider and provide you with a comprehensive list of all the games you need to play. From the original saga timeline to the Legend of Tomb Raider timeline and the Survivor Trilogy timeline, get ready to embark on an epic journey with the legendary Lara Croft.

The Original Saga Timeline: Unveiling the Origins

The original saga timeline is where it all began. Lara Croft made her debut in the gaming world in 1996 with the release of the first Tomb Raider game. Let’s take a closer look at each installment in this timeline:

1. Tomb Raider (1996)

How to Play the Tomb Raider Games in Chronological Order - IGN

The groundbreaking game that started it all! In the original Tomb Raider, Lara is hired by businesswoman Jacquelin Natla to find the Scion of Atlantis. As Lara uncovers the fragments of the Scion, she discovers Natla’s betrayal and must confront her on a volcanic island filled with monsters.

2. Tomb Raider: The Curse of the Sword (2001)

A Game Boy Color exclusive sequel to the original Tomb Raider, this adventure follows Lara as she tracks down a mystical sword and tries to prevent the resurrection of the long-dead Madame Paveau, who plans to use dark magic to subjugate the world.

3. Tomb Raider II (1997)

In this thrilling sequel, Lara sets out to find the Dagger of Xian, a magical weapon with the power to turn its owner into a dragon. She must race against the cult leader Marco Bartoli, who also seeks the dagger for his nefarious plans.

4. Tomb Raider III (1998)

Lara embarks on a quest to find the Infada Stone, one of four crystalline artifacts created from a meteorite. Dr. Willard aims to use the statues tied to the artifacts to accelerate the evolutionary process. Lara must find the remaining three artifacts before the world is mutated.

5. Tomb Raider: The Last Revelation (1999)

In this installment, Lara unwittingly releases the Egyptian god of chaos, Set, while exploring a tomb in Egypt. With Set wreaking havoc on Cairo, Lara teams up with Semerkhet to summon the god Horus, the only hope of stopping this world-ending threat.

6. Tomb Raider: Chronicles (2000)

After the ambiguous ending of The Last Revelation, Lara’s friends recount her historic adventures in this game. From the catacombs of Rome to a haunted island, Lara’s skills and travels are immortalized. But is Lara really gone?

7. Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness (2003)

Framed for the murder of her former mentor, Lara embarks on a journey through Paris and Prague to clear her name and solve the mystery. Meanwhile, Kurtis Trent, the last survivor of the Lux Veritatis Society, is hot on Lara’s trail with a dark secret of his own.

The Legend of Tomb Raider Timeline: A Reimagined Adventure

How to Play the Tomb Raider Games in Chronological Order - IGN

The Legend of Tomb Raider timeline takes a fresh approach to Lara’s origins. This rebooted timeline delves into her early adventures and introduces new twists to the story. Let’s explore the games in this timeline:

1. Tomb Raider Anniversary (2007)

A remake of the original Tomb Raider, Anniversary revisits Lara’s quest to find the Scion of Atlantis. With redesigned puzzles and physics-based challenges, this game offers a fresh take on the classic adventure.

2. Tomb Raider: Legend (2006)

In this rebooted origin story, Lara travels the world in search of the mythical sword Excalibur. Racing against her former friend Amanda Evert, Lara must uncover the truth behind Excalibur’s power before it falls into the wrong hands.

3. Tomb Raider: Underworld (2008)

The final installment in the Legend trilogy, Underworld sees Lara on a quest to find Mjolnir, the key to the realm of the dead. As she explores various ruins and confronts the villainous Natla once again, Lara’s determination is put to the test.

The Survivor Trilogy Timeline: A Gritty Rebirth

The Survivor Trilogy timeline takes Lara’s adventures to a whole new level of intensity and grit. This trilogy introduces a more vulnerable and resourceful Lara as she fights for survival. Let’s dive into the games in this thrilling timeline:

1. Tomb Raider (2013)

In this gritty reboot, Lara’s first expedition to find the lost kingdom of Yamatai goes horribly wrong. Stranded on a hostile island, she must face off against the Solarii Brotherhood cult and prevent the Ascension ritual from bringing a bloodthirsty Sun Queen back to life.

2. Rise of the Tomb Raider (2015)

Lara continues her adventures in Siberia as she searches for the legendary city of Kitezh. Battling against the paramilitary organization Trinity, Lara must navigate treacherous environments and uncover the truth behind the Deathless Ones, legendary immortal guardians of the kingdom.

3. Shadow of the Tomb Raider (2018)

In the final installment of the Survivor Trilogy, Lara embarks on a mission across the Americas to find the hidden city of Paititi. Racing against time to prevent a Mayan apocalypse, she faces both the monstrous Yaaxii and the relentless Trinity organization.

How to Play the Tomb Raider Games By Release Date

If you prefer to experience the Tomb Raider games in the order they were released, here is a chronological list:

  1. Tomb Raider (1996)
  2. Tomb Raider II (1997)
  3. Tomb Raider III (1998)
  4. Tomb Raider: The Last Revelation (1999)
  5. Tomb Raider (Game Boy Color, 2000)
  6. Tomb Raider Chronicles (2000)
  7. Tomb Raider: Curse of the Sword (Game Boy Color, 2001)
  8. Tomb Raider: The Prophecy (GBA, 2002)
  9. Tomb Raider: The Angel of Darkness (2003)
  10. Tomb Raider: Legend (2006)
  11. Tomb Raider: Anniversary (2007)
  12. Tomb Raider: Underworld (2008)
  13. Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light (2010)
  14. Tomb Raider (2013)
  15. Lara Croft and the Temple of Osiris (2014)
  16. Lara Croft: Relic Run (2015)
  17. Lara Croft Go (2015)
  18. Rise of the Tomb Raider (2015)
  19. Shadow of the Tomb Raider (2018)

What’s Next for Tomb Raider?

In which order to play Tomb Raider: all the games of the Lara Croft sagas -  Meristation

Exciting news awaits Tomb Raider fans! Crystal Dynamics has confirmed that a brand new Tomb Raider game is in development. While details are scarce, it has been revealed that the game will utilize the powerful Unreal Engine 5 and will be published by Amazon Games. Crystal Dynamics has also hinted on Twitter that this new adventure will continue Lara Croft’s saga, suggesting a possible continuation of the Survivor trilogy.

In conclusion, whether you choose to play the Tomb Raider games in chronological order or by release date, you’re in for a thrilling and captivating gaming experience. Follow Lara Croft on her epic adventures, uncover ancient mysteries, and test your skills in the most challenging environments. Get ready to become the ultimate Tomb Raider!

Primary Keyword: Tomb Raider games Secondary Keywords: chronological order, original saga timeline, Legend of Tomb Raider timeline, Survivor Trilogy timeline, release date, Lara Croft, Crystal Dynamics, Unreal Engine 5, Amazon Games

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *